ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Groups Announced, India Face Pakistan in Group Stage

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Groups: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 to be hosted by the BCCI in Oman and the United Arab Emirates from 17 October to 14 November.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 Groups
Photo Credit: ICC-Cricket.Com

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 Groups: The groups, selected on the basis of team rankings as of 20 March 2021, see defending champions the West Indies pooled along with former champions England, Australia, and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 12s, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them. Two teams will join each of the groups from the qualifying rounds.

ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2021 Group List

Group 1 – England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner Group A, Runner-up Group B

Group 2 – India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Runner-up Group A, Winner Group B

Group A – Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B – Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

India, Pakistan were placed in the same group in T20 World Cup

Arch-rivals India and Pakistan placed in the same group in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. On Friday as the ICC announced the groups for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021games, set to be played in the UAE and Oman from October 17 to November 14.

ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said: “We are delighted to announce the groups for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great matchups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer. 

“Given the disruption caused by COVID-19, we selected the cutoff date as close as possible to the event to ensure we were able to include the maximum amount of cricket in the rankings which determine the groups. There is no doubt we will witness some highly competitive cricket when the event gets underway in just three months.”

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said: “With the announcement of groupings, our countdown for the ICC T20 World Cup kickstarts. There is nothing that separates the two groups as both are packed with sides that are highly competitive in the shortest format of the game. Having said that, the exciting T20 format is known for its surprises, and we must be prepared for the same. I am sure we will witness some exciting and nail-biting games

“I am particularly delighted to be in Oman. As a major force in world cricket, the BCCI has always endeavored to promote and assist Associate Nations. In my capacity as Asian Cricket Council President, my vision is to take cricket far and deep into Asia. Co-hosting the World Cup will put Oman Cricket on the global stage. They are also playing the Qualifiers and it will be an icing on the cake if they make it to the Super 12s.”

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly said: “It is good to get Oman in the frame of world cricket with the hosting of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It will help a lot of young players take an interest in the game. We know it will be a world-class event in this part of the world.”

Oman Cricket Chairman, Pankaj Khimji: “Oman Cricket has come a long way and today is a watershed moment for us to have ICC and BCCI here at Oman Cricket Academy to announce the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup groups!

Vice President Emirates Cricket Board, Khalid Al Zarooni: “Understanding the current sporting climate, in such unprecedented times, Emirates Cricket congratulates the ICC, the BCCI, and the respective teams on today’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 groupings’ announcement. 

“Looking at these groups we anticipate a highly competitive, thoroughly enjoyable spectacle of international cricket. This is truly an aspirational tournament and one the wider UAE Cricket team is extremely excited to be involved in.”

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Venues 

The venues for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 are Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.”

News Source- ICC-Cricket.Com


Leave a Comment